If you're having trouble viewing this email, you may see it online

Todd Wright
Development Director


2017 Minnesota Preservation Awards Announced

Award recipients will be recognized during October’s Preservation Alliance gala

(ST. PAUL, Minn.) August 15, 2017—The Preservation Alliance of Minnesota (PAM) announced today the recipients of its 2017 Minnesota Preservation Awards (MPAs) recognizing outstanding projects, groups and individuals that contribute to Minnesota’s preservation accomplishments. The MPAs will be presented at the 2017 Preservation Alliance Benefit Gala on October 19th, 2017 at Aria in Minneapolis. Tickets will go on sale September 1st and always sell out. Event and ticket information is posted to the organization’s website: mnpreservation.org

Twenty-one nominations were received this year representing a range of small, community-driven projects to large-scale, high-profile rehabilitation efforts. PAM assembled a distinguished panel with the difficult task of selecting this year’s award winners. The panel designated eight exceptional nominations for recognition due to their significant contribution to Minnesota’s preservation accomplishments and connection to the mission of the PAM.

PAM is presenting two icon awards that represent more than a single project and years of effort and contributions to preservation, in addition to the organization’s highest honors:  the President’s Award and the Executive Director’s Award. There will also be four Honor Awards and four Impact Awards for specific projects that exemplify undeniable impact, quality and vision in the field of preservation. Over the past 34 years, more than 300 projects across the state have received recognition through the MPA program.

The 2017 Minnesota Preservation Award Recipients include:

President’s Award

Charlene Roise – Charlene was an early board member of Preservation Alliance of Minnesota and currently serves on the board of The Cultural Landscape Foundation. Since cofounding the historical consulting firm Hess, Roise and Company in 1990, she has enjoyed working with clients and colleagues on projects ranging from nineteenth-century warehouses to mid-twentieth-century high rises.

Executive Director’s Award

John Rupp– Over the last 45 years, John has rescued endangered historic buildings from the brink, often stepping up when his only opponent was a wrecking ball.  His blend of prescience and fortitude has formed the basis of Commonwealth Properties, Inc.’s success. The Commonwealth Properties portfolio includes many iconic Saint Paul buildings and businesses, including: W.A. Frost, The Saint Paul Athletic Club, The University Club of Saint Paul, Hotel 340, The Commodore Bar and Restaurant, the Exchange Building, The Saint Paul Building, the soon to open Davidson (Summit Avenue Boutique Hotel) and the Burbank Livingston Griggs Mansion—as well as Stouts Island Lodge in WI and additional residential and office buildings. Rupp’s signature: infusing an indelible sense of place and human connection into every building Commonwealth touches.


Honor Awards

  • 333 on the Park - Saint Paul, MN – Stakeholders include: Timberland Parters;  Kaas Wilson Architects; Frana Co.; Hess, Roise and Company; Winthrop & Weinstine; Bridgewater Bank; Baker Tilly; Sherwin Williams; Preservation Alliance of Minnesota
  • 700 Central, Minneapolis, MN - Stakeholders include: Nolan Properties Group; Bader Development; Kaas Wilson; ESG; BKBM; Braun Intertec; Greiner Construction; Hess, Roise and Company
  • The Hewing Hotel, Minneapolis, MN - Stakeholders include: FE Equus Development, LLC; Aparium Hotel Group; ESG Architecture & Design; AWH Architects; Greiner Construction; Ericksen Roed & Associates; Steen Engineering; Sunde Engineering, PLLC; Modern Heating & Air
  • The Minnesota State Capitol Building - Saint Paul, MN – Stakeholders include: State of Minnesota; HGA Architects & Engineers; Schooley Caldwell Associates; Wiss, Janney, Elstner Associates; JE Dunn Construction; Cost, Planning & Management International, Inc.; Minnesota Historical Society

Impact Awards

  • The Conley Mass Downs Building - Rochester, MN - Stakeholders include: 9 Square; Collaborative Design Group; Blue Planet Museum Consulting; CMD Holdings; DZE, LLC; Structural Connections; Encore Public Relations; Benike Construction; Hunt Electric; Bremer Bank; Midwest Landing
  • Ely VFW Building - Ely, MN - Stakeholders include: LHB Inc.; Kovall Construction; Ott Historic Rehab; Brown Electric; WN Plumbing; Mesabi Glass Windows and Doors; American Bank of the North; HD Modern Wall and Ceiling; Fintastic Painters; Denis Miller Engineering Solutions; Ely Design Works; Mike Braun Construction; City of Ely; Deb Sheals Historic Preservation Consulting; Advance Terrazzo and Tile Company; Putnam’s Studio 1012
  • First National Bank of Saint Cloud - Saint Cloud - Stakeholders include: JLG Architects; Kensington Bank; Inventure Properties, LLC; Spring Hill Capital; Baser Construction, Inc.; Schlenner Wenner & Co.; Thomas Tuckpointing; Stone House Stained Glass; Precise; Electrical Solutions, Inc.; Greater St. Cloud Development Corporation; Initiative Foundation; Downtown Council
  • Palace Theater, Saint Paul, MN - Stakeholders include: Oertel Architects; City of St. Paul-PED, Mayor’s Office; McGough Construction; NTH; Paulson and Clark; Schuler Shook; 1st Avenue



About Preservation Alliance of Minnesota

Preservation Alliance of Minnesota is the only statewide, private non-profit organization advocating for the preservation of Minnesota’s historic resources. PAM was established in 1981 by citizens concerned about the loss of irreplaceable segments of our state’s heritage, structures, neighborhoods, and community fabric. 

Its mission is to “Lead and inspire people to connect with historic places, promoting community vitality.”

To learn more visit mnpreservation.org

 # # #

This email was sent to okeefew@gmail.com. To ensure that you continue receiving our emails, please add our email to your address book or safe list.
To unsubscribe from future mailings please click here
Powered By Z2 Systems, Inc.